10 Questions to ask a History Tutor

Hereditarius
2 min readNov 3, 2022

So you are studying History. It is fascinating I know, and you want to cram every last drop of information into that vast brain of yours. However, although everything is interesting you are starting to forget things, important things. You my friend need a history tutor.

The war of the bucket by the way was 1325 AD, I’m just reminding you… You're welcome.

So where do you find a good history tutor yourself, or for your son or daughter? Well, that's what this series will help you to do.

Firstly who am I to be telling you anything? Elevator pitch time; I have run multiple history departments and taught 1000’s of students, I am a history examiner, a history expert with both books and advanced degrees in history, and a governance professional, advising Schools on well how to run a School. I am also a tutor and have been for years. The reason I say this is I know how to pass a history exam.

You are still reading this because you want to jump into the tuition market and you don't know where to start. This is no surprise. The tuition market is vast, worth around 100 billion USD annually. Yet it is also mostly unregulated and contains many dangers for an unprepared client from being ripped off to actual harm to a child.

In this series I will summarise my advice, to avoid this fate. I am not going to launch into a long preamble or story that requires your email address and credit card to get to the end, I am simply going to give you a list of 10 questions you must ask any tutor before you hire them.

So without further ado here they are:

· Can you show me you are DBS certified (the answer must be yes).

· Do you have a degree in exactly the subject you are tutoring?

· Do you have a teaching qualification?

· What topics on my child's curriculum do you specialize in?

· What is your experience with inclusive education; how do you support SEN or LEx needs?

· What roles have you had that show you have assessed coursework or exam papers?

· How and when will you report back on my child's progress?

· What will the first lesson consist of and how much will it cost?

· Where will tuition take place?

· Can you explain how you will prepare and assess each lesson?

So there we are, blog finished. You have everything you need to find that dream history (or in fact any other subject) tutor. If however, you want to learn why and how you should ask these questions, and what response you should expect, visit the rest of this series.

--

--